mi pana e "toki!" suli tawa sina mute.

Community: Meet and greet, introductions, networking, gatherings, events, what's new in your life?
Komunumo: Interkoniĝo, sinprezentoj, socia retumado, renkontiĝoj, eventoj, kio novas en via vivo?
Tomaniki

mi pana e "toki!" suli tawa sina mute.

Post by Tomaniki »

kulupu pi toki pona o, toki! mi sin mute mute towa toki pona. ken la sina lukin e ni tan pali mi (anu pakala mi) pi lawa nimi ona. o pona e pakala mi lon toki mi. mi wile pona ali ni: mi ken. sin la mi tawa seme tawa ni: mi sona sin li toki sin e toki pona? sona ali li pona tawa mi. pona!

Hello, Tokiponans! I am extremely new to Toki Pona, as you can probably tell by my use (or misuse) of its grammar. Please, correct me where I falter. I want to improve as best I can. Also, where should I go to practice speaking Toki Pona? Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!
janMato

Re: mi pana e "toki!" suli tawa sina mute.

Post by janMato »

Tamenik wrote:kulupu pi toki pona o, toki! mi sin mute mute tawa toki pona. ken la sina lukin e ni tan pali mi (anu pakala mi) pi lawa nimi ona. o pona e pakala mi lon toki mi. mi wile pona ali ni: mi ken. sin la mi tawa seme tawa ni: mi sona sin li toki sin e toki pona? sona ali li pona tawa mi. pona![/i]
kama pona kin! Welcome.

I think I'm the only one that thinks so, but reduplicated adjectives require a pi and the repeated word modifies the previous adjective. We don't have any evidence about what reduplication means, but pi phrases are well understood. Reduplication is not productive in toki pona for any systematic purpose. So:

mi sin pi mute mute. I'm really new.
mi sin pi mute lili. I'm kind of new.
mi sin pi lili mute. I'm not really new at all.

Also, kin the word that gives a phrase an emphatic sense and is always correct-- no controversy.
ken la sina lukin e ni tan pali mi (anu pakala mi) pi lawa nimi ona.
"maybe you see this from my work or mistakes of it's head name."