A few questions from a beginner.

Language learning: How to speak Toki Pona, translation problems, advice, memory aids, tools and methods to learn Toki Pona and other languages faster
Lingva lernado: Kiel paroli Tokiponon, tradukproblemoj, konsiloj, memoraj helpiloj, iloj kaj metodoj por pli rapide lerni Tokiponon kaj aliajn lingvojn
janJamesa

A few questions from a beginner.

Post by janJamesa »

I just started learning toki pona a few days ago. I was wondering about a few things. One of the things I wanted to know is how to make comparisons in toki pona. If I were trying to translate "that person has more money than me", how would I do that. I have a few ideas. My first thought was "jan ni li jo e mani mute tawa mi". But I am unsure. I am studying the language with my girlfriend, and she suggested "mi jo e mani, la jan ni li jo e mani mute". Is there an accepted way to make comparisons?

Another question I had was how to translate believe? Take the sentence, "I don't believe in that". My best attempt is "sona mi, la ijo ni li lon ala".
janKipo

Re: A few questions from a beginner.

Post by janKipo »

Official comparsion: x is yer than z = 'x li y mute. z li y lili' Which is often obviously false when taken literally and separately, so yopu have to take them together. I tend to cheat by using 'y ali' "totally y" , a sort of superlative, and then definiing the set in which it is true. So x is the best of the group is 'x li pona ali tan kulupu' and for comparsions, you just use groups of two ' x li y ali tan x en z'.

Which "believe" "think true"? just 'pilin'. "trust, believe in" is a lot harder and I don't have a good suggestion.
jan_Lope

Post by jan_Lope »