Double-speak in toki pona?

Language learning: How to speak Toki Pona, translation problems, advice, memory aids, tools and methods to learn Toki Pona and other languages faster
Lingva lernado: Kiel paroli Tokiponon, tradukproblemoj, konsiloj, memoraj helpiloj, iloj kaj metodoj por pli rapide lerni Tokiponon kaj aliajn lingvojn
janMato

Double-speak in toki pona?

Post by janMato »

Thinking about doublespeak

"downsizing" mass firing of employees
"collateral damage" killing of civilians
"pre-emptive war" invasion of a foreign country

Here is one non-canon attempt to say things in tp, which chooses the ...single-speak(?) way of saying things
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=375

While I agree it is harder to think about complicated things because they get harder to say faster than they do in large vocab languages (or maybe it's just because I'm still a beginner, I can't say downsizing, collateral damage or pre-emptive war in French, Icelandic or Russian--I can barely order coffee), I'm not convinced yet that it is harder to use double-speak.

mi jan lawa pi kulupu esun. esun mi li suli. mi wili e esun lili. mi li kama pali e esun lili.

mi jan lawa pi jan utala. mi mute li utala e jan jaki. kin la tenpo kama la mi tan e pakala lili pi poka ante* taso ni li ijo lili.

* little mistakes on the side

pre-emptive war. This is double speak in the sense of "preventive war", it isn't doublespeak in the sense of "war of first strike" : "marked by the seizing of the initiative." As any good toki pona reader should know, when we have many options to pick from, by context we should choose the one that makes the most sense, which is "war of first strike" and "start a war to prevent the war" is just a non-sense paradox.

Pre-emptive defense is closer to double speak--i.e. using aggression for defense, two items that feel sort-a-like opposites. (I had to hit him because he *looked* like he was going to hit me). Lemme see if I can making into such in tp.