Toki!

Archives from the old Yahoo! group
Arĥivoj de la malnova Yahoo!-grupo
n649po

Toki!

Post by n649po »

Hello everyone, I just started learning Toki Pona today, and was worried when Iread that the lessons were wrong. I read all of them today. :) So, myquestion is this:Is this conlang spoken by so many people that it has been developinginto dialects even in a chat room? When I read the lessons, did Ilearn incorrect Toki Pona?Thank you for your time and answersToki Pona li toki pona mute. mi sona ala e sona e Toki Pona?
Pije

Re: Toki!

Post by Pije »

> Is this conlang spoken by so many people that it has beendeveloping> into dialects even in a chat room? When I read the lessons, did I> learn incorrect Toki Pona?I wouldn't say that you've learned INCORRECT Toki Pona so much asyou've learned INCOMPLETE Toki Pona. I'd say that the website is, byfar, not up to date with the changes that have taken place in thepast year or so in Toki Pona. However, what's on Toki Pona is, forthe most part, correct, although you still need to know aconsiderable amount more before you can say that you've got a stronggrasp on Toki Pona.Personally, the dialect differences aren't very noticeable; Marraskuuseldom comes to the chat room, and so I rarely get an opportunity tocompare the chat room Toki Pona to anything else. However, during thefew times that Marraskuu HAS come, he has made quite a fewsuggestions on things that should be changed in how to speak. So, itseems that differences do exist. As time has passed, thesedifferences have more than likely widened, but I do not know to whatextent if at all.This isn't exactly the best type of topic to use Toki Pona to talkabout, but unless there's anyone on the list who doesn't know Englishwell, maybe this will give you the general idea:lipu Tokipona.org li pona. taso ona li pana ala e sona ali pi tokipona. ijo sin li kama tawa toki pona. sina wile sona e ijo sin ni.toki pona ante li lon.
kurum3@aol.com

Re: toki!

Post by kurum3@aol.com »