nimi pi kon pona tu tu pi nasin sewi pi jan "Buddha" (The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism)

Mind and thought: Wisdom, mental health, cognition, self-talk, consciousness, philosophy, psychology, optimizing your thinking, productivity hacks
Menso kaj penso: Saĝaĵoj, psiĥa sano, kogno, memparolado, psiĥa stato, filozofio, psikologio, rearanĝi sian pensadon, plibonigi sian produktokapablon
jan Seli

nimi pi kon pona tu tu pi nasin sewi pi jan "Buddha" (The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism)

Post by jan Seli »

toki!

mi jan sin pi toki pona. tenpo pini lili la mi toki ante e ni tawa toki pona:

lon li pilin ike.
pilin ike li jo e tan.
jan li ken weka e pilin ike.
nasin pi weka e pilin ike li lon.

Okay, now English. I know it all could've gone wrong )

Hi!

I'm new to toki pona. Recently I've translated this into the simple language:

Life is suffering.
The suffering has a reason.
The suffering may be brought to an end.
There's a (certain universal) way to cease the suffering.

What do you think about this translation, and what are your better variants if any? ))
janKipo

Re: nimi pi kon pona tu tu pi nasin sewi pi jan "Buddha" (The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism)

Post by janKipo »

pona a! taso (tenpo ali la nimi 'taso' li lon):
"Noble Truths" suggests several things beside "words of good spirit" 'sona pona' is standard for wise sayings of all sorts and 'lon' (and 'toki lon') are common for truth. Buddha has a tp name, 'Puta', and this applies, as an adjective to all things Buddhist, so 'nasin sewi Puta' is also correct
"translate" seems to be regularly 'ante toki' , though yours makes sense, too.